Beware The Make Up Review

It is only natural to seek the opinions of others before spending money on a product you have never tried before, and an entire wealth of websites and magazines have been set up to allow users to consult others and garner opinions. In few industries does this apply as strongly as it does in the beauty industry, with literally thousands of magazine inches and hundreds of blogs covering the very subject of make up reviews.

While it may only be natural, and usually beneficial, to seek user and professional reviews before buying a make up product, there is a word of warning. Where make up differs from other reviewed products (such as appliances, books or movies) is in the subjective nature of each product.

Sound complicated? It isn’t, really, it’s just something you need to be aware of. For example, a piece of make up may not work for a reviewer or blogger, but that doesn’t mean it won’t work for you. As make up is applied to skin, and everyone’s skin is different, that means that every single person who uses a particular product is going to get different results with it. Most conscientious bloggers and reviewers will state this discrepancy in their reviews.

Does this mean that reviews are a totally meaningless waste of time? Of course not. If, for example, numerous reviews done by many different people all say that a product is useless, you can probably trust in the wisdom of crowds and dismiss it as poor. You can also looks at comments about consistency, price, packaging – basically, anything to do with the product prior to and after it is used on skin.

9 thoughts on “Beware The Make Up Review

  • September 3, 2015 at 9:47 pm
    Permalink

    not all makeup suits every person. I know colours that look great on my friends and look really shabby on me. Its all about skin tone and stuff like that

    View Comment
    • September 11, 2015 at 9:48 am
      Permalink

      Do you not think that might be because you’re maybe not used to seeing yourself wearing that shade of make-up? I find once adjusted to a certain shade i only end up liking it more than the previous one. (I do usually stick to certain colour shades that i believe suite my skin tone.)

      View Comment
  • August 12, 2015 at 5:44 am
    Permalink

    With make up it depends more on the the compatibility it has on the person rather than on critics or on reviews. So better try the product first even though the review says otherwise because nobody knows that the product is good for you unless you try it.

    View Comment
  • July 15, 2015 at 4:13 pm
    Permalink

    I agree! With makeup it is more difficult to know from reviews what it will be like. Because as you said, everyone’s skin is different so many times makeup looks different on different people. There is also skill level, some people do now know how to accurately apply makeup so it will look different than what they expected. Honestly, I am usually leery of reviews for many things because people tend to write bad reviews for a number of reasons that may not necessarily be the fault of the place/product itself. I have also found that people will more quickly write bad reviews, while if a product is good they don’t post anything.

    View Comment
  • June 17, 2015 at 4:55 pm
    Permalink

    i’m not gonna lie i most of the time look for reviews before buying anything but rarely makeup because we all have different skin and what works for someone else might not work for me but i’ll check on them anyway just to see if many people like whatever the product is.

    View Comment
  • June 16, 2015 at 1:42 am
    Permalink

    Going to reviews to check what people say about make up or other things is just a great way to research the product before hand. You may find that through reviews you learn that they use ingredients that you are allergic to. Simply trying the products may not work for you. I’m always looking for reviews on certain products, maybe in the comments I will find something that will make me not use it.

    View Comment
  • May 17, 2015 at 11:52 am
    Permalink

    i always look for tons of reviews from the web before buying most of the make up products, be it by bloggers or youtubers. I find them helpful in making my decision whether to purchase the products or not.

    View Comment
  • May 3, 2015 at 1:06 am
    Permalink

    This article has mentioned some very good points. Just because a blogger is saying certain product is useless, does not make it so. Maybe the blogger had a bad experience while others had great experiences?

    The point is, people have to do a lot of research to find out about a product’s value.

    View Comment
  • May 1, 2015 at 9:43 am
    Permalink

    i agree, everyone has their own tastes, if we all liked the same thing I’d probably be wearing my sisters black lipstick lol. But I believe especially with make up it should be for you not for other people,

    View Comment

Leave a Reply